UC Berkeley Celebrates Inaugural Tech Integrity Awards Winners

Berkeley, CA – UC Berkeley proudly announces the recipients of the inaugural Tech Integrity Awards, recognizing outstanding contributions across five categories: Academic Research, Civil Society, Government, Industry, and Journalism. These awards spotlight individuals and organizations that exemplify integrity, innovation, and leadership in addressing the complex challenges at the intersection of technology and society. The awards were handed out on March 7 at the inaugural UC Berkeley Tech Policy Summit


Academic Research Awardee

Dr. Jennifer King


The Tech Integrity Award in Academic Research is awarded to Dr. Jennifer King, Privacy and Data Policy Fellow at Stanford’s Human-Centered AI and a UC Berkeley doctoral graduate. Dr. King’s pioneering work in privacy and data protection has significantly contributed to the development of ethical tech policies that prioritize human welfare. Her commitment to educating the next generation of leaders in tech policy underscores the values of leadership and integrity in technology.



X. Eyeé


X. Eyeé, CEO of Malo Santo, receives the Tech Integrity Award in Civil Society for her dedication to ensuring responsible innovation and accountability in technology. A veteran of the US Army, and with significant roles at Microsoft and Google, X. has been instrumental in advocating for algorithm justice and setting new industry standards, particularly in AI’s ability to recognize diverse skin tones.



Assemblymember Rebecca Bauer-Kahan


The Tech Integrity Award in Government is bestowed upon Asm. Rebecca Bauer-Kahan for her instrumental role in crafting legislation that advances ethical standards and transparency within the tech industry. Her work epitomizes a dedication to protecting consumer rights and fostering a safer digital environment, highlighting her commitment to public service and effective technology governance.



Kathy Baxter


Kathy Baxter, Principal Architect of Responsible AI & Tech at Salesforce and a fellow at NIST, is the recipient of the Tech Integrity Award in Industry. Baxter’s contributions to the responsible development and implementation of AI have established benchmarks for transparency, fairness, and accountability, influencing policy and product development across the tech sector.



Mike Isaac


Mike Isaac, Technology Reporter at the NY Times, is honored with the Tech Integrity Award in Journalism. Isaac’s reporting has been crucial in illuminating the ethical dilemmas and societal impacts of the technology sector, holding industry giants accountable and empowering readers with a nuanced understanding of the digital world.

About the UC Berkeley Tech Integrity Awards

The UC Berkeley Tech Integrity Awards were established to honor those who lead by example in making significant, positive impacts on technology and society. The awards are given at the annual UC Berkeley Tech Policy Summit and recognize individuals and organizations that demonstrate a commitment to ethical practices, innovation, and leadership in addressing the challenges and opportunities presented by digital technologies.


For further information, please contact:

Brandie Nonnecke, Chair, UC Berkeley Tech Policy Summit & Tech Integrity Awards Committee (nonnecke@berkeley.edu)